What is IP rating | IP Rating Vs ATM Everything You Need To Know

Ingress Protection Rating ( IP rating )

Ingress means coming inside, I’m talking about IP Rating and it’s going to be a fun, interesting & knowledgeable blog!

And by the end of this blog, you’ll know all the different numbers of IP Ratings – IP67, IP68, IPX8, IP53, ATM, 5ATM, etc.

I’ll talk about them all in a very simple language It’s important for you, so read it carefully till the end.

IP Rating in smartphones

We talk about IP Ratings in every flagship smartphone that it’s IP67/IP68 certified or even with TWS earphones, that it’s IPX8 certified/IP53 certified phones etc.

What is IP Rating meaning

IP stands for Ingress Protection as I already mentioned But these numbers are very important!

The 1st number i.e 6 in IP67, is basically for solids, meaning dust particles. And the 2nd number i.e 7, is for liquids.

But what are these solids & liquids? They are basically to know whether the solids & liquids can ingress & to know what’s the protection.

And for that it’s IP(1st number) (2nd number) – IP(solid protection)(liquid protection).

IP Rating Protection Levels

These protections are of different levels, eg) Solids (Dust) protection stands from 1 to 6 and liquid protection stands from 1 to 8.

Meaning, if I say IP67, then the solid protection is at Level 6 & liquid protection is at Level 7 that’s IP67, But sometimes there are numbers like it has an IP53 rating what about that?

So it has Level 5 solid protection, meaning what? And Level 3 liquid protection and I’ll tell you about everything from Levels 1 to 5 & Levels 1 to 8.

IP Rating Level – Solid Protection

IP 1 (Solid protection)

First off, IP1(Solid protection) is for protection against objects bigger than 50mm, For eg) your hand/finger is not going inside the device, then it’s IP1 certified.

Obviously, it doesn’t matter in phones, that’s why there’s nothing like IP11/IP18, etc.

IP 2 (Solid protection)

Secondly, the 2 for solids, is for protection against objects bigger than 12mm solids.

IP 3 (Solid protection)

The 3rd level of protection for solids is for objects bigger than 2.5mm.

IP 4 and IP 5 (Solid protection)

The IP4, which is for solids bigger than 1mm that cannot enter but IP5 stands for dust protection, that’s smaller than 1mm.

But only a few dust particles might enter, not all of them. I know it’s interesting, abstract & dust-protected but it’s not completely dustproof and It’s not like there can’t be a single dust particle/a single grain of sand that cannot enter.

IP 6 (Solid protection)

The IP6 is the highest level of dust protection & which means that no dust particles can enter the device.

IP Rating “X” Level

Now, you might ask that there’s IPX7/IPX8 certification as well The “X” means no certifications.

X7 means there’s no protection against dust and Remember that there’s no protection & certification when you see an “X”.

IP Rating Level – Liquid Protection

Now the different levels of protection for liquids are very interesting!

IP61 (Liquid protection)

The #1 (least protection level), is basically for protection against falling droplets of water, so if the water falls from above, then it’ll be safe or else not and If it splashes from the sides, then it won’t be safe!

IP62 AND IP63 (Liquid protection)

IP62 is if you spray water & if the water falls on it from a 15-degree angle, then it’ll be safe, or else if it comes with pressure it won’t.

Similarly, level 3 is more secure, if the water sprays from a 60-degree angle, only then it’ll be safe, or else it won’t.

For eg) IP53, meaning Level 5 dust protection but not dust proof & Level 3 splashes of water from 60 degrees, then it won’t be a problem, that’s what IP53 is.

IP64 (Liquid protection)

So what’s the 4th level, just as I was talking about different angles, here it’ll be protected even if water comes from any direction (360 degrees)

IP65 (Liquid protection)

Level 5 liquid protection means, if pressurized water is sprayed through pipes from all directions(360 degrees), your device will still be safe.

IP66 (Liquid protection)

The 6th level is more protective even with powerful jets of water from all angles(360 degree), your device will still be good.

IP67 (Liquid protection)

On the 7th level, you can immerse your device in the water completely but only between 15cm-1m, So if the water level is this here, then it’ll be ok for another 1 meter. If you’re device in between there for 30 minutes, then it’ll be safe!

If this protection is extended to 2-3 hours at 15cm deep, then it won’t be able to keep your device safe.

Remember it’s applicable only for 30 minutes only.

IP68 (Liquid protection)

The IP68 protection is basically for long periods of time.

Suppose it falls down 2-3 meters deep, & if it stays there for 2-3 days like when you hear news of an iPhone being found to be working after all that.

So that’s the 8th level of liquid protection. That’s what it is. Meaning, IP68 (Level 6 solid protection & Level 8 liquid protection) is the highest level of protection in a device!

IP Rating Type Proof

And friends, I’d like to say that when I was researching to find out the actuals, the IP ratings are not complete proof.

It’s not that your devices are 100% safe because there are different types of water as well.

These IP ratings are for freshwater If your device falls into saltwater/sea, then it has different chemical properties & it corrodes the device & it gets rusty.

IP Rating Capacity Disclaimer

That also might create problems, & remember, here IP ratings are not applicable and there’s another disclaimer I’d like to give you!

The IP rating system will work completely during the first fall and It’ll work later as well but, its IP rating will diminish the more it happens. So that’s important!

Meaning, if the device(IP68) falls down & you pick it up after a while, & it falls 25 times a year, then the 26th time won’t be IP68 certified, it might have problems because slowly its capacity/resistance decreases.

IP ATM Meaning

Friends, there’s another rating! You hear 5ATM, which is used in smartwatches we wear and It’s basically the atmospheric pressure, the ATM rating is older than the IP ratings.

And it’s a little simplistic as well the IP rating is a little more advanced.

1ATM meaning

1ATM means it’s not water-resistant, so don’t put it in water.

3 ATM meaning

We don’t generally talk about 3ATM as there aren’t many devices on it and It will protect you against splashes of water but, you can’t immerse it in water completely.

5 ATM meaning

5ATM means you can use the device while swimming & if it falls in the pool for a while even then it won’t have any problems.

But if it stays in the pool for more than some time, then it can have problems.

10 ATM & 20ATM meaning

After 5ATM there’s 10ATM & 20ATM as well10ATM protection is for sea diving/snorkeling, where the water is deep and you won’t have any problems, the water won’t penetrate in.

20ATM protection is for Jet Ski where the water pressure is high.

So basically these are the different levels – 1ATM, 3ATM, 5ATM, 10ATM & 20ATM.

Friends, I hope you now understand the meaning of IP ratings & ATM ratings.

Leave a Comment